{{ ui.wsGrowl }} person is {{ ui.wsGrowl }} people are currently viewing this property

{{ ui.picindex }} / 19
  • Home Farm Exterior | Home Farm, Dunragit near Stranraer
{{ ui.picindex }} / 19
  • Home Farm Exterior | Home Farm, Dunragit near Stranraer
  • We guarantee you the best price

    Our cottages are professionally managed by our partners and payments are taken by them, but rest assured, by booking via Snaptrip you'll pay the lowest possible price for your trip.

    We never charge you more than you would pay booking directly on the partner's site and if you become a Snaptrip member you can save even more. If you find a property priced lower anywhere else on the internet (we’d be amazed if you do), simply email us at and we'll refund you the difference.

    Home Farm

    Don't forget, we guarantee you won't find a cheaper price elsewhere

    Property ref: S42116

    • Bedrooms 3

    • Sleeps 6

    • Baths 2

    • Pets No

    • Wifi Yes

    • Hot tub Yes

    • Reviews (17)

    Keywords in property description

    About this property

    This holiday property is surrounded by beautiful scenery, and is the ideal base to discover all that Dumfries and Galloway have to offer.
    Ground Floor:
    The property has one step to entrance
    Open plan living space.
    Living area: With 50" Freeview TV, DVD player and Wii.
    Dining area.
    Kitchen area: With electric cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washing machine.
    Shower room: With shower, toilet and heated towel rail.
    First Floor:
    Living Room 2: With electric fire and 42" Freeview TV.
    Bedroom 1: With super king size bed.
    Bedroom 2: With king size bed.
    Bedroom 3: With twin zip and link beds (which can be made to super king size – please advise when booking).
    Bathroom: With Jacuzzi bath, shower, bidet, toilet and heated towel rail.
    Biomass central heating, electricity, bed linen, towels and Wi-Fi included. Travel cot available on request. Welcome pack.
    Lawned garden with patio, garden furniture and BBQ. Private hot tub for 6. Bike store. Parking for 3 cars. No smoking . Home Farm provides spacious, contemporary accommodation and is beautifully presented, situated on a working dairy farm amidst some of the best scenery Dumfries and Galloway have to offer. Enjoy the luxurious Jacuzzi bath or why not jump into the hot tub after a long day exploring the beautiful countryside. If fishing is for you, enjoy brown trout fishing on the owner’s own stretch of water on his neighbouring farm.
    This area of Dumfries and Galloway boasts rugged coastlines and secluded sandy beaches which benefit from the warmth of the passing Gulf Stream and is surrounded by breathtaking scenery, offering an ideal base from which to explore the Machars Peninsula and the Galloway Hills. There are many beautiful gardens to explore, including Glenwha, which is on on the doorstep, and the world-renowned Logan Botanical Gardens. The area boasts many pretty little ports, such as Sandhead, Portpatrick and the rspb Scotland Mull of Galloway Nature Reserve, where thousands of seabirds nest in the cliff face during the spring and summer.
    Walking is a delight, whether cliff-top, beaches, hills or forests and the Southern Upland Way passes close by. It is also a cyclist’s paradise, with the world-famous 7Stanes within easy reach. If you prefer shooting or golf there are many facilities nearby, including the county course just two miles away. The town of Stranraer which is only six miles away, offers a wider range of shops, pubs and restaurants. Nearby Cairnryan is home to the ferry that can take you on a day trip to Ireland for a great day out. Shop 2 miles, pub 3 miles and restaurant 4 miles.


    Bike Store
    Fuel and Power Included
    Garden / Patio
    Golf nearby
    Hot Tubs
    Rural Location
    Bed Linen & Towels Included
    Short Breaks All Year
    Cot Available
    Washing Machine
    Pets – not allowed
    Scottish Cottages
    Coastal within 1 mile
    Coastal within 3 miles
    Coastal within 5 miles
    Shower Cubicle
    Great Value Properties
    Summer Best Sellers
    Winter Best Sellers

    How long will it take to drive there?


    Distance: {{ ui.distance }}mi

    Time: {{ ui.time }}hr

    Local amenities

    Powered by
    • Port Rodie - Stranraer
      5 miles
    • Unipart Car Care Centre
      5 miles
    • Morrisons
      5.5 miles
    • Argos
      5.5 miles
    • Starfish Restaurant
      5.5 miles
    • Tesco
      5.5 miles
    • LloydsPharmacy
      6 miles
    • Custom House
      6 miles
    • Stranraer VisitScotland Information Centre
      6 miles
    • Stranraer Railway Station (STR)
      6 miles

    Reviews (17)

    MORRISON ‐ 12 Jan 2020
    "We booked for a long weekend break 3-6th Jan. Fantastic time had by the four of us , 2 adults & 2 children , accommodation was spacious, clean & the upstairs bathroom was amazing! We received a fabulous welcome pack & Stuart and his staff were lovely, welcoming, helpful & friendly with great recommendations for local restaurants/activities. Our Boys loved the hot tub which was all set up for our arrival . Great relaxing break in the countryside, definitely would return."
    Janice ‐ 15 Oct 2019
    "Great holiday and cottage in a lovely setting. Cottage very clean and comfortable and we all had a very relaxing and fun time. Would highly recommend."
    Gilian ‐ 15 Sep 2019
    "We loved our time at Home Farm, the property and location is stunning! We were made to feel very welcome by anyone we met. We would recommend and will be going back."
    Kyian ‐ 31 Aug 2019
    "We were disappointed as the pictures made the property look a lot better that it was (this is mainly on the cleanliness aspect).We were very much looking forward to Iain the Hit Tub, however this was some distance from the property. This was made worse as the garden wasn’t attached to the property.We ended up having to hoover the property shortly after arrival,What is disappointing about the experience is I think the property would be excellent if the paid more attention to the cleanliness."
    Theresa ‐ 14 Aug 2019
    "We had a good week here. There are a few things that need attention, light switches, recliner chairs are wrecked (still comfy as long as you dont recline them). Hot tub needs new part, although we patched it up for the week. No remote for upstairs TV. These bits are easily fixed, but had been mentioned in earlier reviews by other people. These were more of an annoyance, and didn't spoil our holiday. The owner responded quickly when I rang about the hot tub, but unfortunately it wasnt fixed while we were there (we were able to use it). Some general maintenance, and making sure the problems mentioned in the reviews are looked at, would bring the house back up to the top spec I expected. Lovely place, and we would visit again, despite the things I mentioned it felt homely and was comfortable. Biscuits and prosecco were left for us, and we enjoyed our week here."
    Stephanie ‐ 3 Aug 2019
    "We were delighted to have found Home Farm, it is a large, modern and comfortably furnished house with plenty of outside and inside space as well as easy parking. The photos show it exactly as it is but cannot do justice to the beauty of the surrounding countryside and the additional bonus of Glenwhan Gardens quite literally a walk away, with a delightful tearoom and tranquil gardens. Our party of four particularly enjoyed the garden space with the hot tub being used daily - what a treat! Our hosts were friendly and laid back and we would certainly go again."
    Amanda ‐ 3 Aug 2019
    "A large cottage with plenty of room. Didn’t feel as private though as we expected since the hot tub was a short walk from the main cottage and overlooked by the owners property. I don’t know whether it was because of the farm/cattle nearby (coupled with warm weather) but we were surrounded by swarms of flies when in hot tub so couldn’t really enjoy as much as we would have liked. Although the cottage was fairly well equipped, some of the furniture and appliances could have been better maintained and we had to contact the owner about a few issues on arrival, including loose light fittings. One double bedroom had no wardrobe and only small set of drawers for adult clothes. There were no bedside lamps in another bedroom, and a torn blind over velux window in third bedroom which let light in so was hard for my child to sleep. We had to put a towel over it to try and block the light. Such a shame because this *could* be a super place to stay, but doesn’t quite live up to the photos!"
    Dennis ‐ 7 Jul 2019
    "A great place to stay with plenty of space. If holidaying in the area again we'd be happy to return here. Home Farm is bout 25 mins from Cairnryan port, so easy to take a day trip to Belfast, which we did. We used the large hot tub every evening!"
    Caroline ‐ 30 Jun 2019
    "Enjoyed our family holiday. Good base to travel round west coast Scotland.Cottage needs a little sprucing up and replacing broken furniture.Clean and comfortable. Take a fan if going when hot. The upstairs gets a little unbearable at times."
    Jennifer ‐ 8 Jun 2019
    "Had such a good time with friends at home farm, our only issues were that there weren’t enough towels when you’re getting in and out the hot tub so would just advise to bring towels with you. But over all it was great and such a lovely location."
    Steven ‐ 5 Jun 2019
    "Excellent all round very helpful host."
    Confirmed guest ‐ 24 May 2019
    "Great holiday spent at Home Farm, Lovely clean accommodation. Enjoyed the hot tub in the evenings.Lot’s of places close by to explore."
    Angie ‐ 8 May 2019
    "The location of the cottage is beautiful but the inside of the cottage does need a bit of TLC & money spent on it, the upstairs shower looks like its going to overflow where it is blocked up with hair, one of the cupboards where the games etc are kept had over 20 dead flies in there & although we went for this cottage because of the hot tub we couldnt use it because it was filthy, the water was floating with grass & leaves where it is not cleaned on a regular basis. When we arrived the cottage was freezing with no hot water & it took over 4hours to heat up, so it would be nice if when they knew they had visitors arriving that they put the water on so you could shower after a long journey, but overall the beds are comfortable, the downstairs shower is amazing & we did have a lovely time, so if note is taken of points made then YES i would recommend this cottage."
    Colin ‐ 24 Apr 2019
    "This cottage is in a wonderful setting and a great area for exploring. We had a wonderful here and really enjoyed it. However, our experience was spoilt by the poor level of maintenance of the property. We provided feedback directly to the owner/caretaker but it is clear from the visitors book comments that we were not the first visitors to have reported problems with things like crockery and glassware with no action having been taken.If the owner expects to continue to realise such high prices for this property they need to invest some of that income back into the property to enable it to meet the standard shown in the pictures on the listing."
    Michelle ‐ 13 Apr 2019
    "We were so looking forward to staying at home farm, and on arrival it didn't disappoint. Loads of space and amazing bathroom.However it soon became clear there were a few things that needed seeing to. The cistern on the toilet was broken, tiles around shower and bath loose, the recliner chairs broken. The second night downstairs lights in the kitchen and lounge failed and we reported this. Was told someone would come out the following day, this didn't happen and we resorted to use lamps brought down from the upstairs lounge. These lights weren't fixed during our stay. Disappointed also with sky tv, described as full package but this was not the case, and internet was intermittent. The stairs were also very noisy and woke little ones in the night. Hot tub nice but too far away from house and very open. Would have been nice to have a bit more screening for privacy and somewhere to change.All in all this would not put me off returning but these minor issues need addressing, as following others feedback these issues go back some time.Setting nice and plenty of things to do."
    Catherine ‐ 6 Apr 2019
    "Lovely place but could do with some maintenance. Some lights not working, sky package not as advertised, leaky shower, hot tub kept breaking, chairs were broken, cistern lid missing from toilet!"
    Ali ‐ 12 Mar 2019
    "Kitchen equipments weren't that perfect, still need to take some stuff such as pans, oven trays,...But it was clean, big and has plenty room for kids and families"

    Snaptrip Members save even more!

    Our members save up to 60% on last minute cottage bookings. Simply sign up for FREE and you'll see your savings instantly.

    Similar properties

    • Last Minute Cottages - Burnside
    • Last Minute Cottages - Burnside
    • Last Minute Cottages - Burnside
    • Last Minute Cottages - Burnside
    • Last Minute Cottages - Burnside



    Ref: S23365

    Reviews 14

    View details

    • Last Minute Cottages - Airyhemming Dairy
    • Last Minute Cottages - Airyhemming Dairy
    • Last Minute Cottages - Airyhemming Dairy
    • Last Minute Cottages - Airyhemming Dairy
    • Last Minute Cottages - Airyhemming Dairy


    Airyhemming Dairy

    Ref: S75597

    Reviews 12

    View details

    • Last Minute Cottages - Strathyre Golden Oak 1 (Pet)
    • Last Minute Cottages - Strathyre Golden Oak 1 (Pet)
    • Last Minute Cottages - Strathyre Golden Oak 1 (Pet)
    • Last Minute Cottages - Strathyre Golden Oak 1 (Pet)
    • Last Minute Cottages - Strathyre Golden Oak 1 (Pet)


    Strathyre Golden Oak 1 (Pet)

    Ref: S109128

    View details

    • Last Minute Cottages - Achnasheen Cottage
    • Last Minute Cottages - Achnasheen Cottage
    • Last Minute Cottages - Achnasheen Cottage
    • Last Minute Cottages - Achnasheen Cottage
    • Last Minute Cottages - Achnasheen Cottage


    Achnasheen Cottage

    Ref: S233264

    View details

    Unlock exclusive last minute cottage discounts by joining Snaptrip.

    Membership is FREE and guarantees the cheapest online price.

    Login to see

    • Discounts exclusive to members (on average £30)
    • Save & share your favourite properties
    • See your previously viewed properties

    Sign up to see

    Login to see

    • Discounts exclusive to members (on average £30)
    • Save & share your favourite properties
    • See your previously viewed properties


    Already a member login here

    Not a member?

    By entering my email address, I agree to Snaptrip's Terms of service, Privacy policy and to receive email updates, news, & offers from Snaptrip.

    Thank you for joining, member discounts are now available.