snaptrip map pin snaptrip map pin

We're driving all routes for you

Search by

Holiday Cottages In Plymouth To Rent Save up to 60% on your UK Holiday

Live Availability. Live Prices. Book Instantly!

  • “From deciding to go away for a week and hitting the internet to actually finding and booking a cottage took us less than an hour.”


  • “Perfect accommodation, perfect location, perfect weekend (even the weather held out)”

    Stuart Wiggans

  • “Snaptrip had fabulous customer service and found me the perfect apartment in the location I wanted at a cheaper price to competitors”


  • “Easy to use and an absolute life saver!”

    A. Reynolds

  • “The perfect last minute solution”


  • “Great site, easy to use”


  • “Excellent, efficient and speedy service”


  • “Great selection and good value...awesome!”


Staying in Plymouth

The National Maritime Aquarium and Smeaton’s Tower Lighthouse are popular place to visit on a trip to Plymouth. There is plenty of art to enjoy and the excellent Royal Theatre for the more culturally minded. For something a little different head over to the Blackfriars Gin Distillery to sample their delicious produce which is exported the world over. If you prefer to get active on your weekend breaks, there is plenty to choose from. Try the Mountbatten Watersports Centre, the John Nike Ski and Leisure Centre or, if the sea is looking a bit rough, take a dip in the glorious art deco Tinside Lido. Whether you go for quality time with the family or bring a loved one, Snaptrip has great late availability self-catering accommodation to make your holiday a cheap one.

About Plymouth

What our customers are saying about our holiday cottages in plymouth to rent.

  1. Michael

    Verified purchase

    "S19408 cottage was actually a last minute booking as we wanted to have somewhere to stay near the coast but could not find anywhere trying other sites.We came across this place and whist it was a little over our budget for just one week, it was well worth the money when we arrived there. We were informed by the properties care-takers by text if we knew how to get to the property and if we were okay entering the property via the security set-up, and also advised that if there were any problems to contact them, this was reassuring and a first for us that the owners / caretakers took the trouble to contact us before we had even got there.THE PLUS POINTS:The property was very clean and tidy, was well stocked with tableware, cutlery and glassware. There were supplied bath and hand towels which were clean and there were plenty of duvets to keep you warm should the ones already fitted to the bed not be enough - Although duvets were included we chose to take our own duvets, covers and pillow cases as that’s what we prefer to do.There was the option of a microwave and separate toaster, but we did not use these so unable to say if these worked okay. There was at the time Sky TV included, but obviously the channels were the standard package and we did not go on holiday to watch TV so it wasn’t a problem, although at least you could watch a film in the evening if you did not want to go out. There was unlimited Wi-Fi included in the holiday package to.There were where to visit and events broachers supplied but we didn’t find these and till two days of being there as these were in a draw in the lounge unit.In a cupboard in the kitchen (where the boiler was) there was a useful shopping list / messages pad and pen which was a nice touch as it saved you finding scraps of paper to write on.You don’t have to go far to get to the beach and lots of great places along the coast to walk along. There is a good night life for those that like to visit plenty of pubs and clubs in Plymouth itself, and not too far to get a taxi to but how much is another question.There are plenty of access ways into Plymouth for shopping and there’s a theatre and a marina and a place to visit to see some sealife in Plymouth (can’t remember the name), and although not cheap to get in it’s definitely worth a visit as it’s better to see than watch on TV.THE BAD POINTS:Whilst there were plenty of additional duvets, upon a closer look at some of them we noticed there were marks on them which did not inspire confidence in us using them, as we did not know what the marks were.Although there was unlimited Wi-Fi included and the password key given in the ‘welcome / cottage book’ we could not access the Wi-Fi at all, even after trying two separate laptops and mobiles to see if we could connect, we just kept being given the message ‘limited use’ and then taken to the internet providers security sign-on page that required more information to sign on which we didn’t have, so that was disappointing as we could not use this feature.There were other little negative points for us, but it would not stop us going to stay the cottage again, these were; One of the double bedrooms had a ‘black theme’ – lampshades, curtains, bedding – which felt depressing and like a funeral home! In the same room one of the table lamps had an inline switch that had been cable tied to the beds metal framed headboard which we thought was a safety issue if the switch became faulty. Upstairs there was a separate bathroom and toilet which if you were half asleep during the night and went into the bathroom to use the toilet, it caught you out as you’d have to come out of there and then into the toilet! If we owned the property we would be considering knocking out the partition wall so that the bathroom was bigger and included the toilet.The built-in wall effect fireplace did not work at the time we stayed there as there was no gas feed available. There was one kitchen plug socket that had damage to it and the wooden cover door to the washing machine had a missing handle – we found it on a shelf in the cupboard where the boiler was!There were x3 smaller coffee tables in the lounge but we did not use these as they were rather rickety and we were afraid they would break!And around the property some of the light switches seemed oddly placed for the rooms they were in. OVERALL:Despite it seeming like there are a lot of bad points, that is not the case, the only biggest negative point is the upstairs having a separate bathroom and toilet in our view, but we would certainly consider holidaying in this cottage again if we have the chance."
    See property >
  2. Jacqueline

    Verified purchase

    "Very disappointing given that we checked with the company to see if all the things that other visitors have rated as poor had been corrected/repaired. The company had checked with the owner who reassured them that everything had been addressed. This turned out to not be the case! I had been hoping to reverse the negative reviews but alas cannot do so.First the positives. Some elegant furnishings and bedrooms and bathrooms are pleasant. The 2 bedrooms with en suite on the first floor are spacious. Television in lounge is good but a shame only two pople can view it. Also a television in master bedroom but we did not try it out. The balcony and small court yards are quite quirky features and somewhere to enjoy a glass of wine if the weather is fine. Although the bedrooms do accommodate 8 people the other rooms do not!! The table in the kitchen could, at a push, seat 6. There are only two 2 seater settees in the lounge but only two people are able to see the television. You can get a third to be able to view if you prop the door on the cabinet housing the TV open with a chair. Beware if you are used to having a welcome pack as there is literally nothing at all left for visitors not even a pint of milk ; even the salt was empty! I have been renting holiday cottages for neatly 40 years and have never ever not been greeted with a welcome pack of some description.The owner was there when we arrived. The house was cold so I asked how to switch the heating on. She said the house would warm up. It was a good job I pressed her to show us as she seemed flummoxed when it would not go on. Turned out the pilot light was off. No problems with heating thereafter. She went on at length about how visitors had damaged and broken things. The house is dark and unfortunately several light bulbs need replacement - not a guest's fault I am assuming. The old dishwasher was not getting things clean but my husband managed to fix the loose blade which fell off on the first cycle. Electrical items have not been PAT tested since 2013.A recent visitor has mentioned the fridge. There was a note inside the fridge saying out of use and to use the one in the utility room. Although it was cool it was not at a correct temperature to keep food. Even the milk that normally keeps for a week was off by day three and all the meat we bought from Morrisons when we arrived had to be thrown away. The smell was appalling!!!!! There is a washing machine and a drier bur the drier does not work and seems to have a broken catch. Before we left we found a note in a drawer saying the washing machine was for use by cleaning staff and not for use by visitors. By this time we had already used it. We did try to contact the owner about the fridge and other things that did not work and left a messge about the things we were concerned about . She finally got back to us the day before we were due to leave!! We were told again that everything that was wrong had been broken by previous guests - something she had said to the letting company. There was a router in the main bedroom and a password in the property book but we were told there was no internet and she had not advertised the property as having internet access- I could not check on this so assume it was our misconception . We had spent ages trying to access it!! The drier was not for visitor use. Bring your own hairdrier as that is broken too. The pans have definitely seen better days - no longer teflon coated and need a good clean or better still replacing. We have photos. Sorry to be negative but so many things wrong with this property. I have never written a negative review before and have visited many properties with a variety of companies. I would not want other visitors to be as disappointed as we have been."
    See property >
  3. Jean

    Verified purchase

    "Lovely house, modern and well presented. Kitchen is huge and could afford space for a bigger dishwasher (was ok for two of us) and for a bigger freezer. Bed in main bedroom was a small double and affected our sleep as we worried about falling out, again there is plenty of space for a bigger bed. Bathroom was adequate. An enormous TV but we spent most of our time watching our laptop as we couldn't link to the TV for films etc (only 2 DVDs available), there was a skybox but it wasn't connected so scrolling through the hundreds of channels to find the available ones was not worth the effort. A great addition would be a radio and an ipod dock as it was eerily quiet at times. Felt misled by the website description which we thought suggested some sort of view from the house to the sea/beach, this isn't so, there are no views from the house but with a minute's walk you can see the sea and in 15 minutes you can get to the coastline. The local pub, The Mussel Inn, was good for ales and for food, friendly staff. (The main bedroom window doesn't open and seems to have been an issue for previous occupants).Had to phone 5 times and leave 3 messages until we got hold of someone to find out where to collect the key from."
    See property >
  4. Bea

    Verified purchase

    "Hadn't appreciated that much of the last few miles drive would be on narrow lanes and that some drivers have no understanding of the common courtesies on such roads (not the farm's fault). The description mentioned WiFi - but that was not working, neither was mobile signal without walking back up the farm track. Without a doubt the views were spectacular and the walks from the cottage well worth trying. Bed was comfortable, shower acceptable - there is a tumble drier too (not mentioned). Probably won't use again next time we are in the area but for people prepared would be ideal. No issue with it being a working farm - dogs friendly (although a bit indiscriminate about where they leave 'parcels'). Final observation - paperwork said to call the week before to arrange pick-up of key. I phoned, left a message, didn't get a call back (that was a bit rude!), called the next day to be told it wasn't necessary unless arriving very late (post 11 pm) - frustrating that the paperwork didn't explain!"
    See property >
  5. Mr Allen

    Verified purchase

    "This location was rather remote, there was no where within walking distance, driving was necessary everywhere. The roads in and out from cottage to a main road was approximately 2 miles or more depending on which trail you chose of nerve wrecking driving due to steep winding paths for single cars only meeting oncoming traffic meant reversing. We left a day early thus holiday was not for us. ****Owner Response**** Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We were sorry to hear that the location didn't quite suit you and do hope that despite this, you had an enjoyable time in Cornwall. Many people choose S100825 for its peaceful location and for the chance to relax and enjoy the waterside views. Should you ever require any further information on the location of a property please don't hesitate to ask when booking and we'll be delighted to help answer your questions. We do hope we see you again soon!"
    See property >

Popular Destinations

Unlock exclusive last minute cottage discounts by joining Snaptrip.

Save this to your favourites and save up 60% by becoming a member of Snaptrip

Membership is FREE and guarantees the cheapest online price.

Welcome back!

to see our exclusive member discounts


By entering my email address, I agree to Snaptrip's Terms of service, Privacy Policy and to receive email updates, news, & offers from Snaptrip.

Already have a Snaptrip account? Login

Not a member? Sign-up